Starting a Blog…. oh, and Percy Jackson

Well, I guess it’s time I got a blog. I miss having somewhere to rant about books, movies, and music and Facebook just isn’t cuttin’ it anymore! So here I am, blogging.

I’ve been living here in Urbana for just over 6 weeks, so far so good. I have my good days and my bad days, but for the most part life here could be much worse. I’m ready for spring, I’m ready for skirts and warmth and taking walks without wearing 3 layers of clothes!

Since I’ve been here I’ve read about 13 books. I finally finished reading the Bean books by Orson Scott Card, A Charmed Life by Liza Campbell, a few Michael Crichton books and most notably the Percy Jackson series.

I really, really enjoyed reading these books. It’s been a long time since I’ve read something where I completely lose track of time, and that’s exactly what happened while I read reading Percy Jackson! I spent an entire weekend holed up in my room, hiding under the heating blanket, reading these books. They’re entertaining, exciting, the characters are likable, and it is now one of my favorite series! My favorite of the 5 is the 4th, The Battle of the Labyrinth. My least favorite was the 5th.

SPOILERS

I didn’t like how Riordan ended the series. It seemed too cheesy, perfect, and honestly, I wanted Percy to have to fight a little harder. I know it’s hard to end a series really well… certainly we can’t use Harry Potter or Twilight as a good example! But seriously, all five books we kept hearing about how this was a horrible evil that was impossible to beat, and Percy really didn’t have to try all that hard to win. We also spent all five books with Annabeth and Percy on the verge of a relationship, so when they FINALLY hook up it seems a little, I dunno, anticlimactic? Plus, Juniper annoyed me.

END SPOILERS

All in all, I would highly recommend the series. The movie wasn’t even half as good (although I didn’t think it was too bad). Check it out… perhaps at your local library? 😉

3 thoughts on “Starting a Blog…. oh, and Percy Jackson

  1. I don’t know, now that I’ve finally finished the Percy Jackson books (homework stopped getting in my way)I was satisfied with the ending. My thing with books is I stop liking them if they’re too predictable or if I can figure everything out too easily. With this series, there was definitely some twists that I was not expecting, such as Thalia becoming one of the Hunters, Rachel I knew was going to become the oracle as soon as Percy saw the scene where May tries to become the oracle, but I thought it was a good twist and there were a couple of other things that I can’t think of off the top of my head. I know the ending was kinda cheesy, but considering the book was meant for teens ages 12-17, the cheesiness is forgiven in my book. Meh, maybe I’m just a sucker for happy endings.

Leave a Reply

