Library School

My first semester of Library School is quickly coming to a close, and I can’t believe that I’ve been living here for a full three months. There are a lot of things I love about going to school here, but there are also a lot of things that frustrate me. I don’t like living so far from home, and so far from Steve.

I love most of my classes. Library Buildings is one of the best, most entertaining and useful classes I’ve ever taken! The professor is funny, passionate about his subject, and really interesting. It’s forced me to think about things that never would have occurred to me. I never would have thought about lighting, outlets, north light or water features. So yay for that! We have a field trip to Chicago tomorrow, and I am super super excited about it!

My Reference class on the other hand…. I have never been so disappointed in a class. Enough said.

I’m really excited for my summer and fall classes and then… graduation! It seems that I’ve resolved all of my registration problems, and I really will be done with graduate school in December! I can’t wait to be done and out in the field, but at the same time I wish  I could take more classes and learn more. For those of you who are interested here are the classes I’m taking in Summer/Fall.

I’m taking 501, one of the two required courses that deals with librarianship in general and indexing Indexing for most of the summer. I’m also taking two two week intensive Special Collections classes: Paper in the Scholarly World and Letterpress Printing.

In the fall I’m transferring to LEEP (the online program) and moving… somewhere. I’m taking History of Children’s Literature, Bookbinding, Electronic Publishing, and Digital Publishing. I am super excited for all of them!

And then I’ll be done. It’s scary how soon I’ll be done with graduate school, and how fast it’s going. I can’t believe that before I’m 23 I’ll have my BA in English and my Masters in Library Science. A lot of the time I feel way too young for… everything. I am excited to see where things go though, and see what kind of library I end up in!

One thought on “Library School

  1. For your next trick, you should try to get your PhD in four weeks! Super impressive, dear, and I’m infinitely proud of you! Have fun in Chicago!!

Leave a Reply

