Love Letter to my iPod

I love my iPod Touch. I have never been more satisfied with a purchase. Like I mentioned in a post earlier today, I really do feel like it has changed the way I connect with the world.

Originally, I wasn’t going to get an iPod Touch. I thought they were an interesting gadget, but nothing a poor college student like me should be spending money on! And then Steve got one. He was so enthralled with it, and I borrowed it constantly to check things online or play games… I had to change my mind and think about getting one. So one fateful day last June with a fresh paycheck burning in my pocket, I got one. The Radio Shack guy tried so hard to talk me out of it, but I was set in my ways.  I haven’t looked back since.

How can a silly gadget change your life, you might ask. Well dear readers, if you’ve ever listened to me before… well, now would also be a good time.* Let me tell you how my iPod has changed my life.

I’ve always wanted to be the kind of person who keeps up with the news. Since middle school I’ve gone through periods where I’m very in tune with what is going on, and periods where I ignore everything news related. I think my main problem was always that I couldn’t find a way of getting the news that I really enjoyed. Television news is a joke, newspapers are large and at times physically uncomfortable to read, and reading the news on the computer always felt more like work than anything else. None of these problems exist with my iPod. I can pick the news sources I read (I have apps for USA Today, Time, and The Huffington Post and I also usually see what’s on Google News) and the format is very comfortable. Now checking up on the news is the first thing I do when I wake up in the morning, and the second to last thing I do before I go to sleep. I don’t have to have my glasses on to read it, and I only need one hand. I also love reading comics on my iPod. Most, like my favorite, are the perfect size for the iPod. Overall, it is just so much nicer than using the computer.

Let’s talk about my computer for a moment, shall we? I have a serious love/hate relationship with my computer. Lately it has had all kinds of problems, but even beyond that, using my computer too often feels like work. It’s hard for me to separate work from play when I do it on the same screen, often in the same window! So if I can avoid turning on my computer, I want to avoid it. Thanks to my iPod I have that option.  I can keep the computer off while still staying in touch with the world! Living here, it’s rare that I go a day without my computer, but at home it’s pretty common for me to only use the computer for work and to go days without touching it.

The games are fun, and I can’t tell you how many hours I’ve spent playing Scrabble (ahem, Words With Friends). Lately I’ve been trying to teach myself chess using a few different apps, and who doesn’t love a good puzzle game? My iPod is my calculator, my back up alarm,  and my weatherman. My iPod is fun and really, that’s why I like it so much. I don’t get bored with it because it’s always changing.

I have not tried reading any e-books on my iPod, although I may try it over the summer. I’ve been spending a lot of time thinking about e-books and what their role will be in the libraries of the future. In high school I read a few books online using my computer, and I hated it. After a while it hurt my eyes and it did not have the same relaxing feel of holding a book. I’m interested to see if my negative feelings towards e-books are still true, or if technology has caught up. One day I would love to try a Kindle (or some such device) but I don’t think a machine could ever completely replace a physical book for me. I love books. I love how they smell, how they feel, how they look… Picking up a book is so comforting. Opening up a familiar old book is like going home. The way the text looks on the page, the little imperfections that you have memorized after reading a book 10 times… These are aspects of reading that I don’t think an e-book could ever replicate. Like I said, over the summer I’ll probably try reading a book on my iPod, so I’ll let you know what I think of that, and hopefully at some point in the future I’ll have the opportunity to try out another kind if e-reader to form a solid opinion on them.

So dear readers, that is why I love my iPod.

*”dear readers” quote stolen from Brad Neely’s Wizard People Dear Readers

2 thoughts on “Love Letter to my iPod

  1. I totally agree with ALL of this 😀
    My iPod touch was the first/only Apple product I’ve ever owned, after years and years of swearing them off. Now, I can’t imagine not having it. Having nearly constant email/internet access is fantastic…the one semester, I scheduled my classes on it when I couldn’t get to a computer, haha.
    So yes…I also use my iPod for everything, and am admittedly addicted to it.

    P.S., I hope your first semester out in Illinois has been fantastic and I’m definitely going to catch up with the rest of your blog ASAP 🙂

Leave a Reply

