The Cylons Look Like Us Now.

We watched this video in class last night, and I thought it was worth sharing with you all. I’m interested in what you think of it, especially those of you who are older or younger than me! I’ve been around technology my whole life, and I can’t imagine life without computers. Writing a paper without a computer would be a daunting task for me. So much of my life is tied to computers, especially now. I wake up in the morning and check Facebook, the news, and my email on my iPod Touch. Then I usually turn on my computer and do some reading for class, or catch up comics and blogs. All of my classes have online components, and there are plenty of days I don’t look at anything that is physically printed.

Even as I write this, I’m reminded of how easily things on the computer can be lost. I had just finished writing this post when Safari decided it didn’t like WordPress, so it closed the window. Although it autosaves the draft every few minutes, I guess something went wrong and my draft disappeared. So here I am, writing it again. That post might be out there somewhere on the internet, but it isn’t somewhere I know how to get to!

In the video, the idea of “the machine is using us/is us” fills me with a strange mix of fear and thrill. The future is here. Being a Sci Fi fan, the first thing I think about when seeing that is Cylons and Replicants. Where is this technology going to take us? I don’t think remains of the human race will be fleeing a radical group of humaniod robots across space, but who knows? Or will we one day have an Ender’s Game situation where the internet becomes “alive” and starts having feelings (Jane? Anyone remember Jane? Cmon, there’s gotta be some Orson Scott Card fans out there!) When will we reach the technological singularity, and will humans become obsolete? It’s scary/exciting to think about!

I’ve always had something of a love/hate relationship with technology. I fear it, and what it does to our society and social connections, but at this same time it’s just… so cool! There’s so much you can do with computers or iPods or whatever your gadget of choice is. My iPod Touch was one of the best things I ever bought, and I’m not joking when I say it changed the way I get the news and stay connected to the world. But that’s a post for another day.

My friend Jess did a great post about our class last night and technology education (or lack of, in our case). Like her, I’m focusing on Special Collections, so most of my classes won’t give me any kind of technological skills. I know a few basic things, but I don’t have any kind of web design skills beyond filling out WordPress’ easy to use template. I am willing to learn, though. It’s really just a matter of only being here for a year, and having so many other classes that I need/want to take. Sometimes I wish Library School would last longer, and then other times I just want it to be over with so I can get a job and start getting some practical experience!

One thought on “The Cylons Look Like Us Now.

  1. I want an iPod touch!! Maybe when my current iPod dies 🙂 I also can’t really imagine my life without technology. I mean…I CAN, but I also enjoy my technology too much to give it up entirely! Most of my friends live far away and so it’s great to have texting, e-mail, and Facebook to stay in touch with lots of friends and family. I also updated my blog post after I had originally posted it and I wonder now if the un-updated version is archived somewhere.

Leave a Reply

