Emily makes a pizza

So um…. sorry about the lack of posting this week! I’ve been home, and busy with things like commencement! I am so glad I walked in the ceremony– I feel like a REAL college grad now, not just some dumb kid who has a piece of paper somewhere with the words BA in English on it. Steve did a wonderful post about it, complete with pictures! So check that out.

Now on to the real topic of the day! That would be pizza. Usually Steve is the one in the relationship who makes the pizzas, and I stick to baking. But last night I wanted to let him relax a bit, so I made the pizza! Usually we stick to a few familiar dough recipes (ahem, my mother’s) but I found an interesting looking on on Budget Confessions so I tried that out. Overall, it was pretty good, just a little too salty.

For those of you too lazy to click on the link, the recipe calls for

Ingredients (for one 16-inch pizza):
1 1/4 tsp active dry yeast
1 1/3 cup warm water (105 to 115 degrees)
3 1/4 cups all-purpose white flour, plus some for dusting
2 tsp sea salt
1 tsp garlic powder
Freshly ground black pepper
Extra-virgin olive oil

Because I am poor and lazy, I used regular salt and regular pepper. The recipe didn’t really say how much pepper to put in, so I just shook it a few times over the flour before mixing. Steve and I are big fans of whole wheat, so I used 1 1/4 cups wheat and 2 cups of white flour.

.

Apparently I fail at making pictures and words go together nicely on wordpress… so for now I’m going to give up, and just type down here! As you can see from the pictures, we had a delicious pizza! I’m a big fan of crust, and Steve isn’t, so my side had a lot more crust than his! The best part about making pizza at home is that you can tailor it specifically to the people who are going to eat it. I prebaked the crust, and afterwards it looked (and smelled!) even better than before.

While it was prebaking I assembled the ingredients, such as the jars of sauce above and a yummy tomato! The Tallarico’s, which is Steve’s favorite, ended up being bad so I just used the other can. On top of that went plenty of cheese, tomato (on my side) and more garlic,some more garlic, basil, oregano, and a little paprika! And in to the oven it went!

After about 13 minutes in the over out came our pizza! It was very good (says the cook!) It was a little too salty for us, so if either of us use this recipe again we’ll probably put less salt in. I really liked adding the garlic powder directly into the crust! I think it ended up with a stronger garlic flavor because of it, which is of course always a good thing in my book!

So there you go dear readers, I made a pizza! Hopefully I’ll remember not to neglect this blog while I’m home for the next two weeks!

One thought on “Emily makes a pizza

Leave a Reply

