The one where Emily gives you a lot of Youtube videos to watch

I guess you could say that I sometimes get kind of obsessed with things. Here are four songs that I’m currently kind of hooked on.

Supertime by Berndsen

Warning! Don’t watch this video if you’re easily freaked out by blood. There’s a lot of fake blood here.

Ok, so this is probably the weirdest and most disturbing music video I’ve ever seen.  If you haven’t watched it, watch it.

……. Done watching? Incredibly disturbing, isn’t it? This music video isn’t going to get out of your head any time soon. There is something so haunting about the faces of the dead (?) as they’re thrown around and played with like toys. Then there’s the bizarre move into fantasy with the guy on top of the car in the ringmaster’s costume. The more I watch this video the more I don’t get it, and the more I become infatuated with it.

The song itself is so catchy. After hearing it twice I couldn’t get it out of my head for a week.

What Would Captain Picard Do? by Hank Green

I first heard this song yesterday. I haven’t been able to get it out of my head since, and I’ve probably listened to it 6 times. Lately I’ve realized just how much I really like Star Trek: The Next Generation. I haven’t seen nearly as much as I would like (that will change, dear readers, oh yes) but yesterday was Captain Picard Day which led to me watching lots of fan videos like this.

On a side note, watch some of Hank Green and his brother John Green’s videos. They’re hilarious. If you’ve ever identified yourself as a geek or nerd you will enjoy them.

Alligator Skin by Tilly and the Wall

I guess this is the most “normal” of the songs I’m currently obsessed with, and it’s also the one I’ve been hooked on the longest. It’s catchy and the lyrics are GOOD. Those of you who are my facebook friends may have noticed that my last two photo album titles come from this song. The video may not be the best (certainly it’s nowhere near as memorable as Supertime!) but it is a glorious celebration of the weird, and I am always a fan of that.

Is She Fiona? by The Gerbils

Unfortunately there isn’t a Youtube link for this one. I’ve been mildly obsessed with Are You Sleepy? by the Gerbils since Freshman year of college, but this one has just recently really caught my attention. I love the echoy fuzzy feel of it. I’m not very good at describing music, but the long and short of it is that you should go check the Gerbils out. Here’s one of my other favorites from the album.


One thought on “The one where Emily gives you a lot of Youtube videos to watch

Leave a Reply

