Letterpress Printing Pictures

Letterpress printing is awesome.

Here’s my font of choice for this project…

The California Job case full of heavy, heavy lead type!

It took ages to set the type—but it was a lot of fun! It was really nice to just focus on finding the next letter.

Printing was a lot of fun too! It took me a little while to get the hang of it.

All locked up and ready to go!

And here’s the final result! It took a few tries, but I think they turned out pretty well!

I had to make a few changes…

Lovely words 🙂

For those of you interested, it’s a quote from Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte, which is one of my all time favorite books. I skipped a bit in between the first line and the rest because I was running out of e’s! You never think about how many e’s are in a sentence until you can’t put them there anymore! It reads:

“What were the use of my creation if I were entirely contained here? If all else perished and he remained, I should still continue to be; and if all else remained, and he were annihilated, the universe would turn a mighty stranger”

Just realized I spelled entirely wrong! I’m more than useless without a spellcheck underlining my mistakes in red!

3 thoughts on “Letterpress Printing Pictures

  1. Emily, I just added your blog to my google reader and have been catching up. I love your posts & your enthusiasm for books, reading, paper and letters 🙂 Looks like you made the right career choice 😉

Leave a Reply

