Trailer Time!

There are some exciting movies on the horizon that I want to make sure you’re all aware of. So, pay attention, and get ready to go want to find the books they’re based on!

Scott Pilgrim vs. the World

First up is  Scott Pilgrim. Now, those of you who have had a conversation with me about books/movies in the past six months have probably already heard about how excited I am for this. The movie is based on a series of graphic novels written by Brian Lee O’Malley. The books are funny, entertaining, and just generally awesome. The movie is being directed by Edgar Wright of Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz fame. Michael Cera is playing Scott Pilgrim. From the trailers that have been released it looks like the movie will stay true to the feeling and content of the books and also be a lot of fun… but we’ve thought that before (coughWatchmencough).  I’m trying not to get too excited for it because I’ve rarely enjoyed adaptations of my favorite things, but… just look at this trailer! It makes me hopeful.

Steve did a great breakdown of one of the trailers over at his blog. You can see that here.

Let Me In

Ok, this one I am much more skeptical about. Let Me In is the American adaptation of the Swedish film Let the Right One In, which is based on a book by the same name. Let the Right One In is one of the best films I’ve ever seen, and it is without a doubt my favorite vampire movie ever. The Swedish version stays pretty true to the book, and everything they took out made sense to take out. Regardless of what you think about foreign films or vampire films or horror films you need to see this movie.  Let the Right One In is beautifully directed, the child actors did an amazing job, and the story is exactly what you want it to be.

Flash forward to today. Why do we need an American version of this film? Why can’t American audiences just watch it with subtitles? I honestly don’t understand the hesitation when it comes to subtitles. Maybe it’s from having three years of film classes but they don’t bother me at all. Despite the fact that we don’t need an American adaptation of this marvelous work of art, we’re getting one. And of course, I’m paying attention to it, and I will see it when it comes out.

A trailer was recently released for the film and honestly… it looks like it might be ok. It looks very similar to the original, and apart from the terrible music I don’t have anything to complain about (yet). It’s being directed by Matt Reeves of Cloverfield fame. The girl playing the Eli character is Chloe Moretz from Kickass.

I especially like the bit at the end in Morse Code. In the original and the book Eli and Oskar (honestly, I can’t ever remember what their Americanized names are going to be. They’re Eli and Oskar.) use Morse Code to communicate. I’m told the bit at the end of the trailer says “help me”

Never Let Me Go

I had no idea this was going to be a movie until about an hour ago when I saw the post on SlashFilm and I have no idea how I missed this! Never Let Me Go is one of the best books I’ve read this year. It is incredibly well written. The story is revealed to you in little pieces as you go along, so I don’t want to reveal too much but basically it’s about a group of people who grew up at a school in the English country together and they aren’t quite normal. It has some elements of science fiction in it, but nothing that would push you away if you aren’t into that kind of thing. It’s cliche to say, but this book really did have me on the edge of my seat while I was reading it and I could not put it down. It deserves all the praise its gotten and more.

I’m very exited that they’re making it into a movie, although I am a little worried about how the story will translate into film. One of the best parts of the book was how slowly the author revealed key elements to you while still keeping you invested in the story, and I’m really not sure how they’ll do that in a movie.

From the trailer it looks like it’s going to be a good movie and stay true to the events of the book.

So, those are the three movies and books they’re based on that I thought you should all be aware of! I’m excited to see how they turn out, and I’m hoping they don’t become a travesty (coughAirbendercough). I highly recommend you check out these books before the movies are released! Amazon (or your friendly local librarian!) can certainly help you with this goal.

Leave a Reply

