A request to my fellow Pennsylvanian book lovers…

Dear everyone,

Want to help me out? I’m taking History of Children’s Literature this semester and the book list is incredibly long. I don’t mind buying most of these or getting them from the library, but I would also love to borrow them from you/talk to you about them! Do you have a copy of any of these?

Defoe, Daniel. Robinson Crusoe. [1719]
Alcott, Louisa May. Little Women. [1868] (part 1 only) I have a copy of this somewhere, hopefully I’ll be able to find it!
Alger, Horatio. Ragged Dick; or Street Life in New York Among the Boot-blacks. 1867]
Twain, Mark. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer. [1876]
Carroll, Lewis. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. [1865]
Kipling, Rudyard. The Jungle Book. [1894] (the 3 Mowgli stories + Rikki Tikki Tavi)
Stevenson, Robert Louis. Treasure Island. [1883]
Nesbit, E. The Story of the Treasure Seekers. [1899]
Potter, Beatrix. The Tale of Peter Rabbit. [1902]

Graham, Kenneth. The Wind in the Willows. [1908]
Burnett, Frances Hodgson. The Secret Garden. [1911]
I also have a copy of this somewhere…
Keene, Carolyn. The Secret of the Old Clock. [1930] [facsimile edition] I have the 1992 printing of this with the 1950s cover. If you have another edition I would love to look at it!
Gag, Wanda. Millions of Cats. [1928]
Bontemps, Arna and Hughes, Langston. Popo and Fifina. [1932]
Burton, Virginia Lee. Mike Mulligan and his Steam Shovel. [1939]
Siegel, Jerry. The Superman Chronicles. Volume 1. [1938-39]

Enright, Elizabeth. Thimble Summer. [1939]
Tunis, John R. The Keystone Kids. [1940]
Holling, Holling C. Paddle-to-the-Sea. [1941]
Means, Florence Crannell. The Moved-Outers. [1945]
Lowrey, Janette Sebring. The Poky Little Puppy. [1942]
This is a Golden Book
White, E.B. Stuart Little. [1947]
Heinlein, Robert. Rocket Ship Galilleo. [1947]
Seuss, Dr. Bartholomew and the Oobleck. [1949]
MacDonald, Betty. Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle’s Magic. [1950]
Cleary, Beverly. Henry Huggins. [1950]
Brown, Margaret Wise. Mister Dog. [1952] This is also a Golden Book
Minarik, Else. Little Bear. [1957]

L’Engle, Madeleine. A Wrinkle in Time [1962] Steve says he has a copy of this.
Fitzhugh. Louise. Harriet the Spy. [1964]
Steptoe, John. Stevie. [1969]

As you can see, I’m going to more or less disappear for the next few months, and when you talk to me I’ll probably only be able to talk about children’s books because well… once I’m done reading The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest that is all I’ll be reading!!

2 thoughts on “A request to my fellow Pennsylvanian book lovers…

  1. believe it or not, I actually own Ragged Dick….I’ll have to look to be sure but I am like 99 percent positive I do! E-mail or Facebook me your address, I will send it to you along with the moneys I owe you for the 501 book 🙂

  2. ok… when you said Childrens books…I had a whole different thing in mind! So… while I have read and remember some of these…I dont have them. sorry 😦

Leave a Reply

