Let Me In

Oh, dear readers, let me tell you about my disappointment! One of my most anticipated films of the fall was released last weekend, and it was not at all what I had hoped. Let Me In from director Matt Reeves (of Cloverfield fame) is the American version of the Swedish film Let the Right One In. Many of you know that Let the Right One In is one of my favorite movies of all time, and without a doubt my favorite vampire movie.

Before going on, I should let you know that the Swedish movie is based on the book Let the Right One In by John Ajvide Lindqvist. I loved the book, but not as much as the movie.

Let the Right One In is a beautiful, moving film about friendship and love.

The American version is a cheap horror flick that can’t make up it’s mind about what to say.

It wasn’t a bad movie. I guess it could have been a lot worse… but it lacked the poetry of the Swedish version. It missed the point. The beginning of the movie tried to separate itself from the Swedish version. It had a motif of eyes, and it started making some comments on religion… but then it drifted away from that and tried to just remake the Swedish version, and failed.

It wasn’t all bad. There was one really amazing scene where the “father” character is trying to get blood for the vampire. However, for the most part, it wasn’t a very good movie, and I can’t recommend it.

I don’t understand this whole remaking foreign films for American audiences thing. Do they ever turn out well? If you know of one that worked please let me know!

Leave a Reply

