Through the Rabbit Hole

Today I finished my final project for my bookbinding class. I made an Alice in Wonderland tunnel book. Here’s how I made it, complete with plenty of pictures!

First I had to cut out the cards. I wanted to make them a little uneven since things in Wonderland always feel a little off-kilter.

Next I had to print out and cut all the characters I wanted to put in Wonderland. It was tedious work, and it took a long time, but I think the results are worth it!


Next I colored in all of my cut outs using color pencils. Wonderland can’t be in black and white!


And now comes the more complicated part! After everything was colored and glued I had to put it all together. That meant folding the accordion sides, cutting the tabs, and gluing everything together. Folding straight lines has been the most difficult part of bookbinding for me. I’m not a patient person by nature and my natural inclination is to fold everything crooked! It’s taken a lot of concentration and effort on my part to get my books straight (and I won’t lie, they aren’t always straight!) but I think I’ve improved quite a bit! Hopefully by the time I’m done making everyone’s Christmas presents I’ll be a little better at it!

Once everything was cut and glued it was time to make a protective case for my book! I made a tuxedo box, which is one of the things I learned how to do when I volunteered at Preservation and Conservation last semester. It isn’t quite as snug as I would have liked it to be, but it will serve its purpose and protect the tunnel book, and that’s the important thing. After it was complete I decorated it with Alice! My original vision for the book was to have this scene with Alice peering in the door at the front piece, but I couldn’t find a way to make it work. I think having it as the decoration on the box works just as well though!

And without further ado, here is the final product

So there you have it, dear readers, my tunnel book. I’m pretty pleased with it, although there are a few things I wish I had done differently! Doing this book taught me a lot about myself as a book artist and what goes in to a longer project like this. I still have so much to learn, but I am really looking forward to the semester winding down so I have some more time to play around with it! I have so many ideas for Christmas presents and other projects I can’t wait to get started on them!

3 thoughts on “Through the Rabbit Hole

  1. Emily, I enjoyed seeing your book in class today. You did a fine job. I’d like to hear what some of your ideas are for future projects. Maybe you will put some pics on your blog of those too!

Leave a Reply

