So you want to watch some awesome movies… part 2

I forgot a lot of movies yesterday…. sooo, here are some more!

Igby Goes Down
directed by Burr Steers

If you aren’t already in live with Kieran Culkin from his amazing performance in Scott Pilgrim, this movie will make you change your mind. Like so many of the movies I like this one is quirky, funny, sometimes a little sad, and full of awesome.

Memorable quotes: “His conception was an act of animosity, why shouldn’t his life be one as well?”

Hannah and Her Sisters
directed by Woody Allen

I first saw this movie in my Philosophy in Film class and completely fell in love with it. One of my favorite Woody Allen movies. Such great acting, such great writing.

Memorable quote: Too many to pick from. Just watch the movie!

Annie Hall
directed by Woody Allen

This might beat Hannah and Her Sisters as my favorite Woody Allen movie. It’s so charming! If you liked 500 Days of Summer you’re pretty much guaranteed to adore this movie.

Memorable quote: “There’s an old joke – um… two elderly women are at a Catskill mountain resort, and one of ’em says, “Boy, the food at this place is really terrible.” The other one says, “Yeah, I know; and such small portions.” Well, that’s essentially how I feel about life – full of loneliness, and misery, and suffering, and unhappiness, and it’s all over much too quickly. The… the other important joke, for me, is one that’s usually attributed to Groucho Marx; but, I think it appears originally in Freud’s “Wit and Its Relation to the Unconscious,” and it goes like this – I’m paraphrasing – um, “I would never want to belong to any club that would have someone like me for a member.” That’s the key joke of my adult life, in terms of my relationships with women.”

Hero
directed by Yimou Zhang

I’m not super into martial arts films, but I really adore the wuxia style. It’s very Shakespearean. They’re all very beautiful and usually tragic. As you might have noticed by now, I’m a sucker for a good tragedy! Of all the wuxia films I’ve watched Hero has been my favorite. Even if you aren’t into martial arts films I really think you should check this one out–it’s so much more than just fighting!

Memorable quote: “I have just come to a realization! This scroll by Broken Sword contains no secrets of his swordsmanship. What this reveals is his highest ideal. In the first state, man and sword become one and each other. Here, even a blade of grass can be used as a lethal weapon. In the next stage, the sword resides not in the hand but in the heart. Even without a weapon, the warrior can slay his enemy from a hundred paces. But the ultimate ideal is when the sword disappears altogether. The warrior embraces all around him. The desire to kill no longer exists. Only peace remains.”

The Exorcist
directed by William Friedkin

I have a real love-hate relationship with scary movies. I love them because they’re awesome, but I hate them because I’m 22 and I shouldn’t have to still sleep with the light on! This movie is scary but also really well done. If you want a good horror movie instead of one of the thousands of crappy ones out there… go for this.

Memorable quote: “The Power of Christ compels you!”

The Graduate
directed by Mike Nichols

The Graduate! How could I have forgotten The Graduate! Watch it now, watch it now! You’ll never get Simon and Garfunkel out of your head, but that’s ok.

Memorable quote: It’s like I was playing some kind of game, but the rules don’t make any sense to me. They’re being made up by all the wrong people. I mean no one makes them up. They seem to make themselves up.

I promise that’s it for now! No more awesome movie list posts for at least a month, ok? Ok!

Leave a Reply

