Review: Will Grayson, Will Grayson

For as much of a nerdfighter as I am, I had never actually read any of John Green’s books. I know, it’s a terrible thing. But the other day I was checking in books at the library and Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan came across the desk. Naturally, I took the opportunity to add it to my very high to read pile.

And…. I fell in love. On page 8 they bring in Neutral Milk Hotel. As most of you know, I’ve been completely enthralled with NMH since high school. So, getting to read a book where one of the main characters is a huge fan? Yeah, I’m on board for that!

Apart from that the book was great. John Green and David Levithan have alternating sections, each of them told in the voice of a Will Grayson. Both Will Grayson’s have their fair share of problems, and friends with problems. The book deals with issues of sexuality, friendship, online interactions,  mental illness and weight. Despite all of those heavy topics, it’s still a fun and at times funny book.  For as much as I loved John Green’s sections, I think it was Levithan’s writing that really shone in this book. Both Will Grayson’s are well-rounded characters, but I felt there was just something extra in Levithan’s Grayson. I also love that he chose to write it without any capital letters!

I won’t spoil anything, but I wasn’t as happy with the end as I was with the rest of the book. It felt a bit like it was trying too hard, and I didn’t feel satisfied when it was over.

Overall, a great YA book. Funny, yet touching, and perhaps most importantly, thoughtful.

One thought on “Review: Will Grayson, Will Grayson

  1. John Green ends all his novels like that. They’re going well, all the characters are growing and becoming different people and learning life lessons AND THEN HOLY CRAP SOME RANDOM CRAZY AWESOME THING IS HAPPENING OMGZZZ!

    I HATE IT.

    I think that John Green and I have different ideas of what is beautiful, in that I think subtle portraits of everyday life are wonderful, and he likes to end with a bit of pizzazz. To each his own!

    He and Levithan almost had me at the end of WGWG, too (spoilers, for anyone reading). I thought it was going to be Tiny’s musical that was the big, over the top event, and I was digging it. The prospect of liking the end of a book John Green (co) wrote was suddenly a possibility! Gasp! But then WG2 had to have everyone stand up and scream “I APPRECIATE YOU!” and…blah. (end spoilers)

    This reply doesn’t make much sense, just know that I agree with you. Haha.

Leave a Reply

