Movie Round Up

I really love the movies. Here are some interesting ones I’ve seen recently!

The Muppets

Everyone loves the Muppets! Well, I guess except for Fox News. But they like to rain on everyone’s parade, so let’s forget about them! I loved it! It was an adorable movie full of heart. I thought the songs were fun, and I especially liked the one about having a party for one. I don’t know if it was a must see for theaters, but it is definitely a movie that you must see at some point!

 

Tucker and Dale vs Evil

Let me first say that I really love Allan Tudyk. How could I not after his amazing performances in Firefly and Dollhouse? So I was pretty excited for this one. And it was good. Here’s the concept: two hillbillies go to their vacation house in the woods for a relaxing weekend. Some college kids get freaked out by them and in a series of accidents end up dying in horrible ways. They think that they must be trapped in a horror movie scenario, but really, Tucker and Dale are just some nice guys who want a relaxing vacation.

It was pretty funny, and I really enjoyed how they turned the whole horror movie thing around. But while it was good… it wasn’t great. I would have liked to see some better directing…. As Steve said while we were watching it… “Wouldn’t it have been great if Edgar Wright directed this?”

 

Melancholia

Where do I even begin with this one? I watched this on Sunday and I’m still not sure how I feel about it. It moved me, and it’s been haunting me. I couldn’t sleep after watching this movie without seeing Melancholia in my head, slowly moving towards Earth. The movie follows Justine and Clare, sisters, as the rogue planet Melancholia heads towards a violent collision with Earth. Justine suffers from depression and we see her on her wedding day, sadly taking a bath instead of cutting the cake. Clare, the dependable sister, tries her best to take care of her, but there’s only so much that can be done.

Melancholia moves closer and closer to Earth. Clare is terrified of it, but her scientist husband and young son are both thrilled to watch it pass the Earth. They’re convinced it won’t hit. We, as the audience, know better. The opening sequence of the movie shows us in beautiful slow motion the collision.

I guess I shouldn’t say too much more, although I don’t think this is the kind of movie where spoilers are an issue. It’s a beautiful and haunting film.  Like I said, I’m still not sure how I feel about it. Did I like it? Did I love it? Whatever my feelings on it are, it haunts me, and you should see it.

 

Leave a Reply

