The Fault In Our Stars

I am a sucker for a good tragedy. I always have been. As a child I devoured books on the Holocaust, the Titanic, and anything written by Lurlene McDaniel. For some reason I really love to cry.

Well, John Green has written the best crying book I’ve read in a long time. I spent the last 50-100 pages rocking back and forth in bed with tears streaming down my face. I loved it.I started reading the book around 7:30 last night and I finished it around 1:30 in the morning. It has been AGES since I stayed up that late because of a book, and more than anything else that tells me what a great story The Fault In Our Stars is.

The main characters, Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters are both teenagers dealing with cancer. Despite feeling like a grenade about to explode (die) and hurt anyone who loves her, Hazel falls for Augustus. Together they go on an adventure in Amsterdam, deal with their mortality, and do their best to just been teenagers. Hazel and Augustus are witty, smart characters with more than a little melancholy.

So that’s what I liked. What didn’t I like? Well, I called the ending less than halfway through reading it. There were a few events in the book that felt very predictable and scripted to me. That didn’t make it any less enjoyable or tear-jerky, but I do wish there had been more surprise.

If you want to know more about the book or John Green here is a link to his website:  http://johngreenbooks.com/

Alright, those are all my thoughts for now! Next stop…. Ulysses!

2 thoughts on “The Fault In Our Stars

Leave a Reply

