Reading Roundup

I have a confession to make. I haven’t been reading Ulysses. It’s really thick! The words are really small! It’s scary! So, that isn’t going very well. But never fear! I’m still working on my reading list! I’ve just decided to do it out of order. So right now I’m working on The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton. I’m enjoying it much more than I thought I would based on my high school loathing of Ethan Frome.

In other book news….

It isn’t really a secret that I’m becoming a huge Anglophile. I’m obsessed with BBC tv (particularly the soap operay ones like Downton Abbey. SO MUCH FUN!) Naturally, I had to read about the Queen. I enjoyed reading this biography, although it might have been a little too pro-royalty. I don’t know an enormous amount about modern British history but I felt that Smith went out of her way to always show the Queen in a positive light.

That said, I had a lot of fun reading it. I came away from it with a new respect for Elizabeth II. She seems like a dedicated, dignified woman who does her best to make the world a nicer place.

Yup, I’m still reading Star Wars novels. Steve and I are more or less reading them together, although he’s about 5 books ahead of me at this point since I keep venturing off into other books. They aren’t particularly well written, and at times they get a bit soap operay. They’re fun, and they make excellent before bed books!

 

 

PS: I read both of these on my Nook! I’ll probably do a long post professing my undying love for my Nook in the near future.

2 thoughts on “Reading Roundup

Leave a Reply

