Halfway

Weight loss is hard. Talking about weight loss is hard. Last week I stepped on the scale and for the first time in a long time it was magical. I am halfway to my goal! After months of trying to break bad habits, form healthy new habits, and holding my breath when I get on the scale I’m almost there. Twenty-five pounds down, twenty-five to go. Being halfway there makes it a little easier, a little more believable that I might get there someday.

When I seriously started my weight loss journey at the end of June I had a lot of bad habits. I’ve always been a stress eater and at that point I just wasn’t stopping myself at all. If I wanted something, I had it. My commute didn’t exactly help. It was all too easy to stop at Sheetz and grab a cup of fries and a soda to make the drive home go a little faster. That was probably the hardest habit to break!

I think sometimes I don’t give myself enough credit for just how hard I’ve been working for this. I’ve been using Weight Watchers and losing weight slowly–about a pound a week–and I think that makes it easier for me to ignore how awesome it is that I’ve gotten this far. I’ve already lost more than 10% of my body weight, which if Weight Watchers is to be believed is an amazing thing for my health.

The best part of all of this is that I’m no longer ashamed to look at pictures of myself. Instead of being the fat one trying to hide from the camera I feel like a normal sized person!

I still have a long way to go. If I stay on the track I’m on now I should reach my goal at the end of June–a year after I started all of this. When I do get there I’ll be the same size I was when I started college. Not the thinnest, but a normal, healthy size. I probably could lose more weight after that, and there are probably people who think I should. But honestly, I don’t want to be a super thin person. I like having some meat on my bones, I like my curves! If I want to lose more, I will. If I don’t want to, I’ll be perfectly satisfied.

I am proud of myself, and I’m excited to see where this new, healthy path in life takes me!

Leave a Reply

