Lizzie Bennet Diaries

Alright guys, I think it’s about time I talk about one of my recent obsessions. The Lizzie Bennet Diaries.

Universally acknowledged...

I found this wonderful modern retelling of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice a few weeks ago and I have not been able to stop watching them, talking about them, and forcing all of my friends to watch them. They are delightful, dramatic, charming, heartbreaking… everything you want and need in a P&P retelling!

The team behind the LBD includes Hank Green, co-king of the nerdfighters himself! And I won’t lie, that was one of the things that made me click on the link for the first time. I was pretty hesitant to watch yet another version of P&P and I thought they couldn’t possibly pull it off on YouTube.

Well they did, they ARE.

One of my favorite parts of this is how they’re really embracing social media and the internet to tell this story. The characters have twitter, tumblr, and youtube accounts. Side characters make their own videos and have their own stories! In one video Lydia, Lizzie’s wild younger sister, is asked if she feels like a side character in someone else’s drama. Her response? Of course she doesn’t! She has her own friends, her own heartbreaks, and her own worries. In this retelling she is so much more than just Lizzie’s little sister.

That’s enough blabbering from me. Go get lost in the magical story that is The Lizzie Bennet Diaries!
http://www.lizziebennet.com/

 

Leave a Reply

