Webcomics

There was a time in my life where I was really invested in reading webcomics every day. I had a long list of comics I would check daily and I loved it. It’s probably part of the reason I started dating Steve–it was a passion we shared. We’ve been to SPX every year since we’ve known each other and it’s probably my favorite of our yearly traditions.

But somewhere along the way I fell out of the habit. Apart from a few old favorites like Questionable Content I stopped reading regularly. It wasn’t that I stopped liking them, or that they got boring… I just stopped making it a priority.

Thanks to our collection of webcomic books (is that even a thing? What do you even call them?) I’ve been able to catch up on a few and I’m so excited to get back into it. The two big ones that I’m excited to (hopefully) stay caught up on are Gunnerkrigg Court and Monster Pulse.

Gunnerkrigg Court  is probably my favorite webcomic ever. Well, apart from Questionable Content which was my first webcomic and thus will always be at the top of my list. But Gunnerkrigg! It’s a beautifully drawn story about a young girl who starts school in this mysterious place where magic and technology seem to be in some kind of war. It’s a complicated story, but not overly so. It’s full of magic and robots! The artist behind it, Tom Siddell, does a wonderful job of creating interesting, complex characters. I think what I’m trying to say is that you should go read this right now.

Monster Pulse  is another favorite I’ve recently gotten caught up with. It’s not nearly as long or complicated as Gunnerkrigg, so it’s probably a little more accessible to some of you. It’s about a group of children who each have one organ turned into a monster, thanks to a science experiment gone bad. One character has a monster from her hair, another from her heart. The story so far has followed them as they meet each other and try to deal with this bizarre situation. Magnolia Porter has created a really interesting and lovely story with great characters. I’m really excited to see where she goes with this.

 

But the best comic related thing that has ever happened to me would have to be this:

Kate Beaton drew us into Machine of Death

 

At SPX 2011 we tried to get as many writers and artists to sign our copy Machine of Death. Kate Beaton blew us away by drawing us into her illustration!

Happy reading everyone!

One thought on “Webcomics

  1. Gunnerkrigg court just keeps evolving and getting better and better. One of the few webcomics that successfully walks the line between drama and comedy. Also OMG kate beaton is the nicest! what a ridiculously awesome memento

Leave a Reply

