Goals

If doing NaNoWriMo taught me anything, it’s that it’s important to have goals. I’ve always considered myself a writer, but for too much of my life I’ve sat back and said “later.” Not anymore!

I’ve been working hard on all of my writing for the past month, and I’ve consistently been writing almost every day. I’ve gotten so much done, and I’m incredibly proud of myself! But I know that if I don’t set a goal I’ll fall behind, I’ll get lazy again, I’ll say later.

So here are the goals!

  • Write every day. This one is kind of a no-brainer. I want to become a better writer. I want to try and get some of my short stories and eventually my novel published. None of that will happen if I stop writing! 
  • Complete first draft/readthrough of 2011 NaNo novel by May. One of my projects has been rereading my 2011 NaNo novel and I was pleasantly shocked to find that it isn’t terrible. Maybe it’s that I’ve had enough space from it, but I really enjoyed reading it. I love my characters, the plot, everything! I’ve been working on finishing it, but I keep finding myself stuck. Can the me of now write as well as the me of a year ago? Can I keep the story going? This is my biggest goal, and the one that I think will be hardest to keep.
  • Polish short stories. I’ve written quite a few short stories in the past month, but most of them still need lots of editing and rewriting.
  • Blog. I want to try and post at least every week, but hopefully more. It’s good for me to put my thoughts into writing in a non-fiction way.

So there are my goals! Now the hard part: keeping them.

 

7 thoughts on “Goals

  1. I am the exact same in the way that I get super lazy if I don’t keep a goal in sight and keep things achievable instead of having a fantasy goal that I will never reach! Literally half of my log is just going on about not writing and how I needed to get back into it!
    I like that about your goals, that you will be able to achieve all of them, they are realistic goals! Good luck!

  2. Holy crap, this could be me writing this post. I’m still working on my 2011 Nano and I just started my blog to make sure I write regularly… Keep it up! I’m right there along side you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

