Alone

I am the kind of person who needs a certain amount of time every week alone. It’s not that I don’t like other people–I love hanging out with friends and family! But if I’m really going to feel rested and happy I need those few hours to sit by myself. Lately I feel like I’ve been running around all of the time, between work and social events. Everything has been great, but I was starting to feel a little drained. Tonight I was sitting alone for the first time in a while, and it struck me just how much I enjoy my own company. There have been plenty of times in the last few years where  I couldn’t stand to be trapped in my own head for more than a few minutes, but I’m past that now. I like myself. Being alone doesn’t necessarily mean that I have to distract myself with television, video games, or books. I can just sit, think, write and dream. 

I am incredibly lucky. 

Leave a Reply

