Hold on to your butts…

I just saw Jurassic Park in 3D. Now, I know what you’re thinking, is it really necessary to go see this? You’re thinking that you have the dvd, and your television is pretty big…

Believe me, you don’t want to miss it. I was kind of on the fence about going to see it, but then we won tickets to an advance screening from Geekadelphia. I am so glad we went! There is nothing quite like sitting in a full theater, listening to the audience react to a movie.

The 3D

I could have done without the 3D. I’m not a fan of post converted movies, and it was very obvious that Spielberg didn’t shoot the movie with 3D in mind. There are some really interesting shots in JP, and a lot of weird angles, which means that when you’re watching in in 3D sometimes there’s going to be a clump of grass or a weird patch of light distracting you from what’s really going on. This was annoying, but not annoying enough to distract from the pure awesomeness that is Jurassic Park.

The sound

For me, sound is one of the reasons I still see movies in theaters. My television is pretty good, and I don’t feel like I’m losing much by seeing most things on the small screen. But with sound, the theater is still king. There is so much that I heard this time around that I didn’t notice before! It completely amped up the thrills for me.  When we heard the t-rex roar for the first time I nearly started crying, it was so terrifying.

The audience 

Seeing a movie with an audience can be so much fun. (It can also be awful, but we’ll forget about that for now!) Our audience for JP was great.  There were even a few kids in the theater, probably seeing it for the first time. Hearing everyone laugh and gasp made every scene more exciting. Particularly  the scene where Jeff Goldblum is randomly posing. Yeah, you know the one.

At first there was silence, then one person started snickering and before long I think most of us were laughing. Probably not what they intended, but it was still really great.

The movie

This review really isn’t about the movie. If you’re even considering going to see this in 3D, you’ve probably already watched it many, many times. Even so, it is still a great movie. It’s funny, it’s scary, it’s thrilling. The scene where Grant and Sattler see the dinosaurs for the first time always makes me want to cry. So does the scene where the kids almost get eaten by velociraptor, but for completely different reasons. The CGI dinosaurs still hold up, even after 20 years, even on the big screen. They are still beautiful, and terrifying, and very, very real looking.

I leave you with this, dear readers. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

