Short Stories

I’ve been reading a lot of short stories lately. I subscribed to Daily Science Fiction  a few months ago and I’ve found that a short story is one of the best ways to start my day. I’ve also been reading plenty of other short stories elsewhere on the internet. I think once a week or so I’m going to share one of my favorites.

I read The Water That Falls on You from Nowhere a few months ago and it really stuck with me. Those are the stories I really like–the ones that you keep going back to. It’s a beautiful story about a Chinese man struggling to commit to a relationship and come out to his family. The story is centered around the premise that in this reality, when a person lies water falls on them from nowhere. It artfully allows the writer to play with the idea of lies, half truths, and sarcasm. You can see this best in Matt’s interactions with his sister. It’s a great way to see the characters, and I love it. John Chu has written a hauntingly beautiful piece about relationships and families.

Go check it out! Tor even includes some nice artwork with the story.

 

Leave a Reply

