E-Readers and me!

Lately I’ve been having trouble sleeping. During the day I’m exhausted, but as soon as bedtime rolls around I find that I stay up past midnight. Last night I finished reading The Paris Wife. And last night I figured out why I can’t sleep.

A few months ago I bought an iPad Mini. I ADORE my iPad. I love playing games on it, reading comics on it, browsing the internet, checking my email… Nowadays I only turn on my computer to write and it is wonderful. Up until last week, however, I hadn’t read a book on it. I’ve been continuing to use my Nook while Steve reads The Song of Ice and Fire series on the iPad. This week I decided I should give it a go, so I downloaded The Paris Wife from the library and got to reading.

I’m positive that my sleeping problem is related to this. The backlight on the iPad prevents me from my usual drifting off to sleep routine. I have all of the internet at my fingers, so in between chapters I can check up on things. And perhaps the biggest reason… I’m terrified of dropping it. I’m the kind of person who falls asleep on top of books. I drop them on the floor. I roll over on them. My Nook has survived this treatment just fine. I hate to admit this, but I’ve even stepped on my Nook. It is a beautiful brick of an e-reader and I love it. I don’t think the iPad would take that kind of abuse. Not to mention that it was a lot more expensive than my Nook…

I’m not regretting my iPad purchase. I still love it, and I think it’s the best way to digitally read comics. But I don’t think I’ll be reading any more books on it.

Leave a Reply

