Show Don’t Tell–Second Draft Updates

Revising is both a lot of fun and very painful. It’s hard to cut things, and it’s even harder to see how much I have to change and rewrite. But at the same time, I love going back and filling in details that I missed the first time around. I know my characters now, much better than I did when writing these chapters over a year ago.

For the most part I’ve been finding that it takes me about an hour and a half to edit a chapter. Most of that time goes to rewriting sections that aren’t very good, or don’t make sense any more. My first draft is full of long rambling paragraphs where my characters describe the world around them and give big chunks of exposition. I don’t want to be one of those writers! I’m doing my best to follow the motto “show don’t tell” and changing all of that to feel like a more organic part of the story.

I just finished editing chapter five, and I’m feeling pretty good about it. I’m already much happier with these first few chapters! I’m so excited to get them out to my first round of readers–it’s going to be hard for me to wait until I’ve finished editing everything! I can’t wait to see what other people think of my book. At the pace I’m going, it will be ready in a few weeks!

5 thoughts on “Show Don’t Tell–Second Draft Updates

Leave a Reply

