Adding Chapters

Yesterday I started the process of adding three chapters to my book. Even before I started editing I knew this was coming, I just wasn’t sure where. Yesterday when I saw that I had a gap of about a month where my characters were silent, I knew where the chapters had to go.

For two of my characters I know exactly what I want them to do. It isn’t a stretch to add a few more adventures into their story, and I think it will end up adding a lot to their character development and to how readers see their relationship. But that last chapter…that’s going to be tricky. Rose, the POV character in that chapter, is in jail, more or less waiting for something to happen. Thanks to the way I’ve structured my novel, there is no way I could add just one or two chapters. The story is told from three point of view characters that rotate over and over again in the same order–if I wanted to add just two chapter it would seriously disrupt the flow of the novel. After a lot of thinking, rereading, and planning I think I’ve figured out what to do with her. It’s going to require a little shuffling, but hopefully it will all pay off in the end.

It feels like it’s been a long time since I’ve done any actual writing as opposed to editing and rewriting, so I’m pretty pumped about getting into these three chapters. It’s going to be good to slip into my characters again and have a little fun!

 

Leave a Reply

