Disappearing

I have a tendency to disappear from here, don’t I? Don’t worry readers, it’s not you, it’s me.

For the past few weeks I’ve been in a bit of a rut. There are a lot of reasons I’ve been stuck–and not just with writing. I have a lot of fear about the future, about what my life is going to look like. In less than 2 months I’ll be moving out of my apartment, and there’s no concrete answer for where I’ll be moving, or where I’ll be working. I turned 25 and suddenly it felt like all those problems weighed a thousand pounds. It was hard to ignore them, and harder to write.

But after a lot of time thinking, talking, and allowing myself some time to rest without the constant buzz of the internet, I’m back in the game! I’ve finally finished writing those three chapters, and today I finished my edits of Chapter 14! That’s the halfway mark! It feels good to hit a big progress marker, especially when I’ve been feeling so down about the whole process. The end is in sight, if only I can actually motivate myself to work.

I won’t say that I won’t disappear again, because I really think that some time away from the internet is good for everyone. It’s good to unplug, to let your brain function on its own without a thousand other voices. Hopefully from here on out it will be smooth, creative sailing on the river of revision!

 

Leave a Reply

