We live in the future

future

Time for another Trifecta Challenge! 

This week’s word is:

ASS

1. (noun): any of several hardy gregarious African or Asian perissodactyl mammals (genus Equus) smaller than the horse and having long ears; especially : an African mammal (E. asinus) that is the ancestor of the donkey

2.  (noun):
a. often vulgar : buttocks —often used in emphatic reference to a specific person <get your ass over here> <saved my ass>
b. often vulgar : anus

3. (adverb/adjective) often vulgar—often used as a postpositive intensive especially with words of derogatory implication

Without further ado, my story!

The Mundanity of Technology

He slammed the door, just a little, when he came in from work. I stayed quiet, knowing it would pass. After a quick kiss he programmed our dinner into the replicator

“How was your day?” I asked.

“Fine, fine.”

“Another traffic jam?”

“I thought once those fancy-ass new trains were up it would get better,” he grumbled. “But nope, Ford had to release those goddamn flying cars at the same time. Now the commute is worse than ever. It took me almost an hour! An hour!” I felt a rush of gratitude for my own job as I let him rant. I worked from home and I hadn’t ventured onto the highway during rush hour in years. “I’m sorry,” he finished just as our food was done. “I’m just tired.”

“I know. Let’s just relax tonight, forget about the housework. You can put the autovacuum back together tomorrow.”

We ate quickly, then spent a few hours cuddling on the couch watching our favorite shows. Just another night in.

_______________________________________

 

Sometimes I take for granted how awesome it is that we live in a time so full of amazing technology. I can play games on a 3D tv. I can check the weather with a tiny computer in my hand. I can talk and see family members hundreds of miles away. We long for flying cars, but I’m sure if we ever get them they’ll just be one more thing to complain about.

8 thoughts on “We live in the future

  1. It’s so true about how we long for the technological advances that are right around the corner yet we will surely complain long and hard about them when they do come to pass.

    Nice work!

  2. I think you’re absolutely right – people find life mundane not because it’s not exciting enough, but because they’re not doing enough to experience it. Great story! A conversation starter, to be sure.

Leave a Reply

