Spoilers, Sweetie

I don’t give a damn about spoilers. There, I said it.

I don’t care if you want to tell me the end to a story, or the twist, or whether Jane and John end up together in the end. Spoil away, folks! I’ll just smile and keep on reading/watching/enjoying the story.

If a story is so dependent on a twist that knowing about that twist ahead of time is going to ruin the story, it isn’t a good story. Except in rare cases, twists do not make good stories. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good twist. I love the feeling of everything in a story shifting ever so slightly. A good twist is an amazing thing. However… too often twists are put in a story simply for the shock value. I’ve found that most of the time if a spoiler is going to ruin a book/movie/tv show for me, it probably wasn’t worth reading/watching in the first place.

My favorite part of movies and books is watching the story unfold. I love seeing all the moving pieces come together, seeing how the characters grow and change. For me, a story is always about the journey. I don’t watch a romantic comedy because I want to know whether the characters end up together at the end–I know they do! I want to see how they get there.

I don’t usually actively seek our spoilers, but sometimes knowing the events of a story can make it even more enjoyable. Let’s take an example that so many of us were “spoiled” on: Game of Thrones. If you read the books you know the major things that are going to happen. You know that certain characters are going to die at certain times. For me, this makes the viewing experience better. I’m emotionally prepared to lose that character, and to see all of the bloodshed. Instead of being blinded by the shock of what I’m seeing, I can pay attention to the details.

Of course, my attitude towards spoilers isn’t for everyone. Some people like the shock, and that’s fine. Far be it for me to tell anyone how to approach their entertainment.

How do you feel about spoilers? And writers out there–how do you feel about writing twists into your work?

 

Leave a Reply

