How do you read?

I love books. I love short stories. I’ve been known to read the back of the toothpaste. I love reading in every way, shape, and form. I love paperbacks, hardbacks, e-books, audiobooks…

But I do have a preference. This might sound unbelievable, but I prefer e-books.

I know, I know, we millennials are supposed to think e-books are harder to focus on. Sometimes I agree with that. But these days, I find myself reaching for my ipad before picking up a physical book. I still love how books smell, I love how paper feels, I love the covers, and the way they look lined up on my shelf. I still love books, I will always love books, but right now e-books are just so much…easier.

It’s easy to carry my ipad or my nook around with me. I can have hundreds of books loaded on them, and I download new ones in minutes. I can adjust the color of the page, the font, and (this is an especially important one) the size.

WHY ARE BOOKS PRINTED WITH SUCH SMALL TEXT? Okay, I know it probably has to do with the cost of printing and publishers not wanting to sell books the size of houses. I’m sure there are lots and lots of good reasons why most books are small text. But…

Reading large print e-books has changed my life. I find that I get less distracted, and it is so much easier on my eyes. I love large print! I would read large print all of the time, except there are so many books never printed in large print. Even when they are, they’re heavy. It’s hard to read a heavy book lying down in bed, which is where I do most of my reading.

Right now I’m lucky enough to have plenty of time to devote to reading, but too often it’s hard to read. There are so many things that need to get done. There have been plenty of times when finding the time to read has been difficult. E-books make it a little bit easier, which let’s me read a little bit more, and that is always a good thing.

How do you read?

 

 

2 thoughts on “How do you read?

  1. I like both regular and e-books as well. Where I’ve found the Kindle handy is going on vacation. Packing five paperback books in a carry on is just a pain. Done it before 🙂 Having the one device with a variety of books is so much easier. But I still have a bookcase – one full shelf of printed books waiting for me to read (too bad life doesn’t cooperate!) I like that I can put them in my purse and not worry about whether I charged the batter, or the ramifications if I accidentally drop it (I’m clumsy.) When I go camping, I always bring paper books because of the inability to charge electronics, and the possibility they will get damaged. I imagine I will always be a hybrid type reader as long as books are available in both formats 🙂

Leave a Reply

