Scrooge McDucking in a Pile of Books

We live in a complicated, but wonderful time for books, particularly SFF boosk. Complicated, because any time people try to express themselves there’s going to be controversy. For more on the complicated side of things see Kameron Hurley’s article in the Atlantic, or George R R Martin’s blogs on the problems with the Hugos this year. There has been plenty said on the topic, but I don’t feel like my thoughts have to be added onto the pile.

Let’s talk about the wonderful stuff.

Imagine books instead of gold and you’ll have an idea of what I’m feeling.

THERE ARE SO MANY BOOKS. I’m sure I’ve expressed this here and other places before, but I am constantly amazed at the sheer number of books out there, and how much I don’t know. We live in a golden age of books, and I am so grateful, and happy. Sometimes I feel like Scrooge McDuck, but instead of swimming in piles of money I’m swimming in piles of books, words, and ideas. There is so much out there for me to experience, and so much I don’t even know that I want to experience.

I get so excited when I come across an author, book, genre, or idea I haven’t thought about before. There are so many things about the world I don’t know about, or understand. I consider myself pretty well read, especially in SFF, but I’ve only seen a small fraction of what’s out there, especially if you consider self-published books.

I love that there are millions of books out there for me to choose from. We live in an exciting time, because we are not limited in what we read. Even just a few years ago we were limited to what we could find in the library, or what they could find using Interlibrary Loan. Today, it feels like the whole world of books is at my fingertips. I try to keep up with current publications, but I’m also trying to catch up on older books. Thanks to the internet, I can buy (or borrow from the library) most of those books seconds after I learn of their existence.

Sometimes it’s overwhelming–how on earth do you pick one book out of millions to spend your time on? Overwhelming, and a little sad that I’ll never get to read EVERYTHING, but mostly it is wonderful.

What’s your favorite way to find new books to read? Do you know of any books I should add to my reading pile?

2 thoughts on “Scrooge McDucking in a Pile of Books

  1. I love the Scrooge McDuck picture & reference. I would totally do that (& wish I was right now!!) I’m reading Delicious Foods and it is sooo beautifully written. (It’s not about food, and part of it is told from the POV of crack cocaine!) In the “there’s so much I didn’t know” category, I read Nothing To Envy recently and it blew my damn mind. I also really enjoyed Under the Banner of Heaven. And I’m looking forward to the rest of Tana French’s Dublin Murder Squad books, just need some time so I can give them the attention I’ll want to 🙂 (AKA – a week at the beach!)

  2. I loved loved loved The Secret Place, but for some reason the rest of her books keep getting pushed down my list! I’ll have to add those others to my list, thanks for the tip!

    Even with time, I feel like there’s never enough time for all the books I want to read. I wish I had two brains–one to be constantly reading, the other to do all the other stuff I want/need to do, haha.

Leave a Reply

