Novel in Progress, Short Story Submissions, and Other Writing Tidbits

Yesterday I hit to 40,000 mark for my current novel in progress, and it felt pretty damn good. The ballpark goal is 100,000, so I’m not quite halfway, but after months of researching, outlining, writing, and trying to sort out the plot I feel like I have a good grasp on what needs to be done and where the book is going. This is without a doubt the most ambitious project I’ve ever done, and there are times where it feels overwhelming. But I know the story I want to tell, and I know that it’s a complicated one with lots of moving pieces.

A few weeks ago I finally got around to getting Scrivener. Why did I wait so long?? It really is an amazing writing tool. Up until then I had been using Google Docs, which worked well enough when Firefox was working… which was not all the times I wanted it to be working. My only complaint with Scrivener so far is that I didn’t buy it sooner.

I would really like to have the second draft of this WIP done by the end of the summer. This is 100% doable, especially in my current job hunting state of being. As long as I don’t let myself get too distracted by writing short stories and watching Netflix, I should be able to finish the first draft in a month or so, and get it cleaned up and edited enough for human eyes by the end of the summer. Ideally I’ll be able to start querying agents around the time of my November wedding.

Along with the novel (which is currently untitled. Titles are the worst.) I’ve been writing and submitting a lot of short stories. I’ve currently got 7 that I’m sending around. There’s 1 that I just got a rejection for that I want to rewrite a bit. There are 3 novellas that I work on when I’ve got writers block with the Novel in Progress. I find it very useful to jump around when I’m feeling anxious about a project. If I start to feel like one thing is shit, I move to another. It’s a slow way to get things done, but it keeps me writing.

I think the hardest part of writing right now for me is the bubble. Apart from the rare comment on a rejection for a story, I don’t know when what I’m writing is good or bad or somewhere in between. Sometimes I use Critique Circle, and I have a few friends that I’ll occasionally use as first readers, but most of the time it’s just me in my little writing bubble. I feel like I’m getting better. I can see a huge difference between the stuff I was writing two years ago and the stuff I’m writing now. On most days I feel like I’m going in the right direction, and not wasting my time. I’m making progress, and I guess at this point in my writing career that’s a good thing.

2 thoughts on “Novel in Progress, Short Story Submissions, and Other Writing Tidbits

    • Same to you! It feels like a good milestone number. There’s enough of it now that giving up doesn’t feel like an option!

Leave a Reply

